HOMEElections UpdateCommunityELECTION MONITORINGElection CandidatesCoalition MembersBOOTH FINDERABOUT US

agora logo
Fri, 16 Sep 2011

Senate names committee chairs

Senate President David Mark, on Thursday, announced the chairmanship of the senate’s constitutional and oversight committees including two new ones.

The senate formed a Committee on Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and a Special Duty Committee to add to its usual 54 committees.

Statutorily, the senate president announced himself leader of the Selection Committee and his deputy, Ike Ekweremadu, as vice-chairman. The selection committee is made up of members of the senate leadership, majority and minority, as well.

Suleiman Adokwe (PDP Nasarawa) was announced chair of the Services Committee, responsible for procurement and management of senate infrastructure and other welfare services.

Ita Enang (PDP Akwa Ibom) chairs the senate Rules and Business Committee. He came into the senate from the House of Representative where he had handled similar committee.

Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP Abia) is the new senate spokesman. He is a second term senator and was a member of the Communication and Public Affairs committee in the previous session.

The former spokesman of the senate, Ayogu Eze (PDP Enugu), was named chairman of the Committee on Works. His colleague, Smart Adeyemi (PDP Kogi) was named chairman of the senate committee to oversee the Federal Capital Territory. Both men were vocal in the push to return David mark as the senate president.

Olusola Saraki (PDP Kwara) ex governor of Kwara State, who attempted to contest the senate presidency, was appointed chairman of the senate Environment and Ecology Committee.

Danjuma Goje (PDP Gombe), who also attempted to contest the senate presidency, was not as lucky and landed vice-chairman of the Petroleum Downstream Committee. The Petroleum Downstream is headed by Magnus Ngei Abe (Rivers), a first time senator.

Nkechi Nwogu (PDP Abia), who chaired the banking committee in the previous senate, now chairs the Committee on Gas.

Andy Uba (PDP Anambra) was announced head of the senate committee to oversee the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). Philip Aduda (PDP FCT) heads the Power Committee while the Petroleum Upstream Committee will be headed by Emmanuel Paulker (PDP Delta).

James Manger (PDP Delta) heads the committee on Niger Delta, while George Thompson Sekibo (PDP River) heads committee on Defence and Army, and Gilbert Nnaji (PDP Enugu) heads the Committee on Communications.

Uche Chukwumerije (PDP Abia) will continue to head the committee on Education while Gyang Daylop Dantong heads the Health committee left by Iyabo Obasanjo.

Ahmed Maccido (PDP Sokoto) was announced chairman of the Appropriation committee which will oversee the passage of annual budgets.

Ayo Ademola Adeseun, who had headed the House of Reps version of the Appropriation committee in the previous session, now at the senate, will head the Banking, Insurance and other financial institution committee.

The committees’ major function is to provide checks to government establishments under their purview to sustain productivity in the executive arm of the government. The senators were however, elated, exchanging banters after the announcement of various committees, gratified by the perks that will follow their new offices.

Share Via Twitter:

Disclaimer: Content is the Opinion of the Author and is not in anyway representative of the Opinions of the Nigerian Election Coalition, WANGONeT, or the MacArthur Foundation except otherwise stated.


May 23, 2014

Nothing Can Stop Jonathan from Contesting 2015 Election, Says Fayose

- Admin

The governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the June 21 governorship election in Ekiti State, Mr. Ayo Fayose, yesterday led other chieftains of the party in a peaceful protest ...
[ Read More ]

[ View all Articles ]

No featured content avaliable at this time. Please check back later.

Apr 27, 2012

- Admin



[Full Cartoon]

[View all Cartoons]
Apr 11, 2011

- Kelechi Madugba

2011 Elections In Nigeria

2011 Elections In Nigeria

[ watch video ]

[ View all Videos ]

Copyright © 2011 Nigeria Elections Coalition

Home | About Us | Contact Us


Platform powered by WANGONeT 
Supported by the MacArthur Foundation